- Becoming a real estate agent can be a great career path if you are good at and enjoy sales. But before you prepare for a career in real estate, make sure you are willing to work in a field where your income will often depend on commission and will fluctuate with changes in the house market, no matter how good you are at sales.
Step 1: Prerequisites
- There are several prerequisites and requirements before you can get a license as a real estate associate in Florida.
- You must be over 18 years old.
- You must have a high school degree.
- You must complete a pre-licensing class of 63 classroom hours. People will disabilities might be able to take the class at home. The class needs to be approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission.
- After taking the class, you have two years to apply for a license.
- When applying for the license, submit the application form, fingerprints and the required fee.
Step 2: Exam
- After passing the exam, you can apply for the Real Estate Sales Associate Examination.
- According to the Mutual Recognition Agreement that Florida and several other states have, members of those state only have to pass the law part of the real estate exam, if they have a real estate license in another state. If so, you need a grade of 30 or more.
- All others must pass the full exam with a grade of 75 or more.
Step 3: After the Exam
- If you pass the exam, you are qualified to apply for a license.
- Submit an application to activate the license you previously applied for. Use form RE-2050-1.
- The license you receive is temporary. You will need to complete a post-licensing course of 45 classroom hours before it expires.
Step 4: Broker License
- If you have a real estate sales license and would like to apply for a broker license, there are several steps required. They are similar to the steps taken to apply for a real estate associate license.
- You must have practiced in real estate for 24 months during a five-year period before qualifying for a broker license. Experience from another state might qualify.
- Complete a 72-hour classroom course for brokers approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission. People with disabilities might be able to take the class at home.
- Submit an application, fingerprints and the required fee.
- Pass the Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of 75 or more.
- File form RE-2050-1 to activate the license.
- The initial license is temporary. You must complete a post-licensing class approved by FREC before it expires.
- If you want to get a real estate associate license in Florida, you have to meet the prerequisites, take a classroom course and pass an exam. To apply for a broker license, you will need to go through steps very similar to the ones you initially took to apply for the original license, but you will need a few years of experience first.